The Idea behind the Carbon Market

Since the 90s, regional initiatives have been growing to fight against climate change. In 2008, the Western Climate Initiative (WCI) was introduced in North America and includes five active members and six observers. The objective is to enable participants to develop a common approach to deal with climate change.

The carbon market can be divided into two segments :

– Regulated market : the regulated market is governed by specific rules. There’s a cap-and-trade system in Quebec, since January 2013, that is governed by the Règlement concernant le système de plafonnement d’échange de droits d’émission de gaz à effet de serre (SPEDE).

The voluntary market : the voluntary market is not governed by any specific rules, but there are certification programs that recognize the credits sold on the voluntary market. This market is made ​ of actors who voluntarily wish to reduce or offset their emissions.

The major contribution of climate finance is to transform the environmental impact of an organization into a quantifiable and monetary value product on the market.

Depuis les années 90, des initiatives régionales se multiplient en place pour lutter contre les changements climatiques. En 2008, la Western Climate Initiative (WCI) a été mise en place en Amérique du Nord et regroupe 5 membres actifs et 6 observateurs. L’objectif est de permettre à ses participants de se doter d’une approche commune pour faire face aux changements climatiques.

Le marché du carbone peut être divisé en deux segments :

– Marché réglementé : le marché réglementé est régi par des règles précises. Il existe au Québec, depuis janvier 2013, un marché réglementé en vertu du Système de Plafonnement et d’échange de droits d’émission de gaz à effet de serre (SPEDE).

 Marché volontaire : le marché volontaire n’est pas régi par des règles précises. Par contre, il existe des programmes de certifications. Ce marché est composé d’acteurs qui souhaitent volontairement réduire ou compenser leurs émissions de GES.

L’apport majeur de la finance climatique est de transformer l’impact environnemental d’une organisation en un produit quantifiable et monnayable sur le marché.